Kimberly’s Cooking Adventure

My ongoing journey in the kitchen…

Baked Potato Soup

I made the Baked Potato Soup that I found on Cooking Light’s Website.

I wasn’t a huge fan. It needed something. I think part of the problem is that I used skim milk instead of 2%, so it didn’t thicken up as much. I wound up having to add some cornstarch to the soup to get it to thicken up like I wanted it to. It didn’t taste horrible, but definitely lacked something.

Baked Potato Soup

Ingredients
4 baking potatoes (about 2.5 pounds)
2/3 cup all purpose flour
6 cups 2 % reduced fat milk (I used skim milk)
1 cup reduced-fat shredded sharp cheddar cheese, divided
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 cup reduced fat sour cream
3/4 cup chopped green onions, divided (I left these out)
6 bacon slices, cooked and crumbled (I used 6 slices of Oscar Mayer Ready to Serve bacon. I crumbeld 3 slices and put into the soup and then crumbled the other 3 and put them on top of the soup.)
Cracked black pepper (Optional)

Preheat oven to 400°.

Pierce potatoes with a fork; bake for 1 hour or until tender. Cool. Peel potatoes; coarsely mash.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Place flour in a large Dutch oven; gradually add milk, stirring with a whisk until blended. Cook over medium heat until thick and bubbly (about 8 minutes). Add mashed potatoes, 3/4 cup cheese, salt, and black pepper, stirring until cheese melts. Remove from heat.

Stir in sour cream and 1/2 cup onions. Cook over low heat 10 minutes or until thoroughly heated (do not boil). Ladle 1 1/2 cups soup into each of 8 bowls. Sprinkle each serving with 1 1/2 tsp cheese, 1 1/2 tsp onion, and about 1 tbsp bacon. Garnish with cracked pepper, if desired.

Serves 8.
WW points: 6 per serving

February 11, 2008 - Posted by | Cooking Light, Food, Soups | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I would highly recommend trying this recipe with the 2% milk. I typically buy skim, but always get some 2% when I know I’m going to make this recipe. I think that it really makes all of the difference.

    Comment by spkr602 | February 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. It sounds healthy, maybe that is what it is lacking…calories! 🙂 It sounds delicious too.

    Comment by April | February 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. looks great – did your family like it too?
    (I’m always looking for husband-friend recipes)

    Comment by USA Kiwi | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. USAKiwi, my husband did like it. He enjoyed it more than I did.

    Comment by Kimberly | February 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

